Sex: Our Greatest Natural Resource by Tyler Blanski

Sex: Our Greatest Natural Resource by Tyler Blanski

Today, I want to highlight a wonderful article written by Tyler Blanski and published at Crisis Magazine. I had the privilege of meeting Tyler years ago, right after he published his first book: Mud & Poetry. You can read my review of his book here.

A beautiful writer, I believe Tyler has been gifted with the ability to communicate God’s design for sexuality in a way that is incredibly gracious and relatable.

In his most recent article, Sex: Our Greatest Natural Resource, Tyler shares his perspective on humanity’s maleness and femaleness. It’s hard to even comment on all that he says because I am in 100% agreement with every word–it’d simply be a series of “amens.” So instead, I will share some of my favorite quotes and simply say “Thank you, Tyler.”

Sexuality has been so misused, abused, and distorted we no longer trust it. It has become depleted soil. It breaks and crumbles like dry dirt. We do not trust it.

 

When it comes to sexuality, Christians do not trust in a philosophy or in a theory. St. Paul cries out, “I know who it is that I have put my trust in” (2 Tim. 1:12). We trust in a Person: Jesus of Nazareth, the Son of God. So ask yourself the brutally honest question: Is God good? Do you trust Him?

 

He fashioned us as male and female, and he saw that it was very good—good, as in awesome. Ultimately, human sexuality is good because God is good (Ps. 100:5).

 

Can we trust sexuality? I think so. The juxtaposition of the sexes is our greatest natural resource, a resource rooted in a ruthless trust in God’s good character. Like any other life-sustaining resource, it is an undeserved gift and worthy of our respect. It was not meant to be exploited, polluted, or commercialized. It was intended for human flourishing, for the procreation of children, for our mutual society, help, and comfort. We have been given this gift in trust.

So what’s the takeaway? The takeaway could be summed up in this passage from Scripture: “Sow righteousness for yourselves, reap the fruit of unfailing love, and break up your unplowed ground; for it is time to seek the Lord, until he comes and showers righteousness on you” (Hosea 10:12).

I would love to hear your thoughts and comments on Tyler’s article. Please post below!

